Wardrobe & Weight Loss: A New Adventure In Sewing

Over Thanksgiving my diet has been wobbly to say the least. I lost the weight from my binge. Gained it. And now loosing it a bit. Lord help my yo-yo diet and weight. But onto the topic of this writing!

I was lucky enough to so something really cool over break, sewing! My grandmother is actually in town for break and we spent some time together doing some sewing. She helped me do some prep, but for the most part with her instruction I did the work. I mended 1 sweater and a skirt. I MADE a brand new  skirt. Hemmed and took in 1 pair of jeans, 1 pair of dress pants and a T-shirt. For those of you who don’t sew, that was a solid 4 hours of work. That was with 2 people! I was on a mission!

Quite honestly, when you lose weight, hell when your weight fluctuates drastically up or down, NOTHING fits. I mean absolutely nothing. As awesome as it feels to have clothes be baggy on my new healthier body, having nothing to wear is such a struggle. Waking up in the morning and trying to dress myself in droopy clothes is frustrating. Also, because I know I’m in the middle of my transformation, I don’t wish to go out and spend a ton of money on new clothes that won’t fit in a month or so.

That is why me learning to do even some basic sewing and taking clothes in (yay for shrinking) is a HUGE blessing. I highly encourage those of you out there who are loosing weight to try your hand at it if you can. I mean, if I didn’t adjust a lot of these clothes, I would have thrown them away anyway, so might as well try sewing them. It really isn’t too hard if you go slow and aren’t picky. haha. There are millions of tutorials online if you’re wondering where to start. Long story short, I saved money and expanded my wardrobe by learning (attempting) a new skill. One I hope yo continue and utilize on some of my other pieces of clothing to help save me money as I go.

Hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving,

-B

About attemptingconfidence

I'm your average twenty something female. Feel free to ask me anything I'm and open book or comment as you like.

Posted on November 28, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

