Goal setting

Goal setting is something that is important in all aspects

of life. Work, school, fitness, health, even fun things like sports and activities. Often time we find ourselves subconsciously setting goals and when we meet them we feel a sense of pride and accomplishment. Often we do this in things we are GOOD at. Things we know well and know we can do IF we push ourselves. But how do you set attainable goals if you DON’T know what you’re doing?

This is how I felt when I started loosing weight. I didn’t really know what was normal or how quickly I could improve. Personally, they key to staying on track (At least for me) with long term goals like my weight loss is picking small attainable goals. But I didn’t know WHAT was a “small goal”.

After some online research and sifting through the bullshit loose 5lbs in 5 days diets., I figured some things out. This time, I wanted it to be different. I wanted my weight loss to actually work. So I thought I should write my goals down, and I did. Here and on a piece of paper. In addition to the #’s I made lots of goals about physical ability. This way it wasn’t always about the # on the scale, but my fitness level. This helps me in times like now, when my body seems to be holding onto the extra few pounds quite tightly. It would be a lie if I said I wasn’t frustrated sometimes, or annoyed  that those extra few laps around the track felt like they did nothing for my body. However, I try to  focus on that I can actually now DO those extra few laps.

What I’m trying to say is, if you’re new to goal setting or just trying to readjust. Please set yourself up for success and give yourself goals that are just far enough from you that it takes work, but close enough that you can have that push to keep you going.

HAPPY SELF-IMPROVEMENT!

-B

Peak Weight: 235lbs

Start Weight: 225lbs

Current Weight:200.8lbs

Weight loss so far: 34.2lbs

About attemptingconfidence

I'm your average twenty something female. Feel free to ask me anything I'm and open book or comment as you like.

Posted on July 11, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

