Resistance and Persistence

Hello world!

So last night totally didn’t binge! I didn’t eat a single thing! Whoorah for being good. Today, however, is turning out to be a bit of a roller coaster. This morning I ate good but caved on the free ice cream.

Yet, today was and up when I went shopping. An up, clothes shopping?! That never happens for me. But it was. Jeans shopping specifically. As normal I went for big sizes not caring and just needing something to wear that fits. I hate getting help from workers. I get anxious and shy about my body. But today was a whole different story.

I walk into Levi’s jeans in the outlets in IN and expect to just grab something try on a bunch until I found a fit that was okay and bought it and left. I was first approached by Luke, who honestly, I was very closed off and not mean but not pleasant to him either. I didn’t the “We are just browsing” please go away thing. To his credit he was EXTREMELY pleasant the whole time. I think he realized it was just me not being comfortables I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s felt that way in a jeans store before. Another woman approached and I gave her the “we are just browsing polite thank you” but I’m sure it seemed kind of fake. My patience was already wearing thin thanks to my mother talking to her even though I blatantly did NOT want to talk to her. Her name, I learned later was Devin. She handled this situation beautifully and knowing my mother was frustrating me just explained the styles so she could leave and I could find things easier. After getting through a try on round, Luke still then approached me even after I felt awful bout my behavior.(It probably wasn’t that bad, but I prove myself on being VERY polite and thankful to customer service industry-having worked it myself) He continued to be very kind and offer many different options and solutions to what “wasn’t working” I found 2 pair that fit alright and a bonus Luke found us clearance pair! My wallet is grateful. But after that we had a better idea what I need. But I really needed a short size. Not really my legs, but the pockets. I don’t have a butt to be honest and pockets always sit super low on me. Frustrating. I was ready to be done by that point. I fit into a size 11,12,13,14,and 15. People wonder why girls get so frustrated by pants size. The “juniors”(odd sizes) fit better because It is tight around my legs and knees which I need. But I like flare to help balance out the look of my boobs. But anyway. We were kind of overwhelmed with finally deciding on that I wouldn’t be able to get a short.I just  needed a pair for awhile to hold up.

Then Devin came to the rescue.(My pants superhero!) She offered me a style that was shorter, but I needed to go a size smaller. Tried on a 12….that was too big. Tried an 11….still too big. Tried on a 10 short slight curve which runs smaller. I just laughed when she said try a 10 when pulling them off the racks. Thinking, lady I just tried on a 15 that fit a bit, I don’t think I could squeeze my thigh into a 10. I tried it on and it was perfect. It fit my legs, gave me a butt, and it was a 10!!! In a style that ran small. OMG! A 10! I haven’t worn a 10 since middle school.

Now for the downside afterwards. I went for a run today and couldn’t run for a straight 6 minutes. I was dying! I ran 8 in a row easier after running 2 times yesterday. I didn’t get why it was so hard. I decided to quit eat dinner and then try again afterwards with inserts in my new shoes. Hopefully it will work better and I can do the run later. For now I’m going to rest and digest. Read my book. Seriously I’m kidding by ellen Degeneres (SO FUNNY!)

With peace,

-Q

About attemptingconfidence

I'm your average twenty something female. Feel free to ask me anything I'm and open book or comment as you like.

Posted on May 30, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

